LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Thu Nov 12 2020
China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation

Tiantong-1-02

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

November 12, 2020 at 10:59 AM EST

(November 12, 2020 at 3:59 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

November 12, 2020 at 10:51 AM EST

(November 12, 2020 at 3:51 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

November 12, 2020 at 12:10 PM EST

(November 12, 2020 at 5:10 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Communications
    • Designed by the CAST Institute (China Academy of Space Technology), a subsidiary of the Chinese aerospace group CASC and specialized in spacecraft design, the Tiantong-1 02 satellite will be operated by China Satellite Communications Co. Ltd, another CASC subsidiary which owns about ten communication satellites such as the ChinaStar and APStar. Tiantong-1 02 is the second satellite of China's first mobile communication network. It uses a Chinese DFH-4 satellite platform, and, according to its manufacturer CAST, has the highest payload mass utilization rate compared to other satellites of the same family. The project was launched in 2010 following the 2008 earthquake in Sichuan, where almost all ground communication networks were paralyzed. China had no mobile communication satellites at the time, so it had to lease services from foreign countries, such as Inmarsat in Europe, for its rescue teams.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Xichang Satellite Launch Center, People's Republic of China

    Pad

    Launch Complex 2 (LC-2)