LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Wed Apr 18 2018
SpaceX

TESS (Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite)

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

April 18, 2018 at 6:51 PM EDT

(April 18, 2018 at 10:51 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

April 18, 2018 at 6:51 PM EDT

(April 18, 2018 at 10:51 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

April 18, 2018 at 6:52 PM EDT

(April 18, 2018 at 10:52 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Astrophysics
    • The Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) is a NASA space telescope, designed to search for exoplanets using the transit method. TESS will identify planets ranging from Earth-sized to gas giants, orbiting a wide range of stellar types and orbital distances. The principal goal of the TESS mission is to detect small planets with bright host stars in the solar neighborhood, so that detailed characterizations of the planets and their atmospheres can be performed.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 40