LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Sun Jun 06 2021
SpaceX

SXM-8

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

June 6, 2021 at 12:26 AM EDT

(June 6, 2021 at 4:26 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

June 6, 2021 at 12:26 AM EDT

(June 6, 2021 at 4:26 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

June 6, 2021 at 2:25 AM EDT

(June 6, 2021 at 6:25 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Communications
    • SXM-8 is a large high power broadcasting satellite for SiriusXM's digital audio radio service (DARS). Space Systems/Loral (SS/L) got in July 2016 the contract to build the two satellites based on their SSL-1300 bus - SXM-7 and SXM-8. Satellite design operates in the S-band spectrum. Each satellite will generate more than 20-kW of power and will have a large unfurlable antenna reflector, which enables broadcast to radios without the need for large dish-type antennas on the ground. SXM-8 is meant to replace the XM-4 satellite. SXM-7 was meant to replace the XM-3, but suffered a failure in orbit 6 weeks after its launch.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 40