LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Thu Nov 03 2016
China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation

Shijian-17

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

November 3, 2016 at 8:43 AM EDT

(November 3, 2016 at 12:43 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

November 3, 2016 at 8:30 AM EDT

(November 3, 2016 at 12:30 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

November 3, 2016 at 9:00 AM EDT

(November 3, 2016 at 1:00 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Government/Top Secret
    • This will be the maiden flight of the Long March 5, which is China's next-generation heavy-lift space launch system, comparable in performance to the European Ariane 5 and the U.S. Delta IV Heavy. The rocket is powered by RP-1 and Hydrogen, and will be able to place 25 tonnes into low earth orbit. It is carrying Shijian-17, an experimental satellite, reportedly tasked with testing ion propulsion systems for future space station keeping uses.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Wenchang Satellite Launch Center, People's Republic of China

    Pad

    Wenchang