LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Fri Mar 04 2016
SpaceX

SES-9

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

March 4, 2016 at 6:35 PM EST

(March 4, 2016 at 11:35 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

March 4, 2016 at 6:35 PM EST

(March 4, 2016 at 11:35 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

March 3, 2016 at 8:06 PM EST

(March 4, 2016 at 1:06 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Communications
    • Containing 81 Ku-Band transponders, SES-9 will be positioned at 108.2 degrees East to provide communication coverage for 22 million homes. The satellite will enhance SES’s existing coverage in Asia, Australia and also improve maritime communications in the Indian Ocean. The 5300kg craft will use a xenon ion propulsion system for orbital manoeuvres to decrease the amount of propellant needed.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 40