LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Tue Oct 26 2021
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

QZS-1R

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

October 25, 2021 at 10:19 PM EDT

(October 26, 2021 at 2:19 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

October 25, 2021 at 10:19 PM EDT

(October 26, 2021 at 2:19 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

October 25, 2021 at 10:34 PM EDT

(October 26, 2021 at 2:34 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Navigation
    • The Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS) is a three-satellite regional time transfer system and the satellite-based augmentation system for the GPS that would be receivable within Japan. The primary purpose of QZSS is to increase the availability of GPS in Japan's numerous urban canyons, where only satellites at very high elevation can be seen. A secondary function is performance enhancement, increasing the accuracy and reliability of GPS derived navigation solutions. QZS-1R is a replacement satellite for QZS-1 which was launched in 2010.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Tanegashima, Japan

    Pad

    Yoshinobu Launch Complex