LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Wed May 20 2015
United Launch Alliance

OTV-4 (X-37B) (USA 261) ( AFSPC-5) & ULTRASat cubesat deployer

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

May 20, 2015 at 11:05 AM EDT

(May 20, 2015 at 3:05 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

May 20, 2015 at 9:00 AM EDT

(May 20, 2015 at 1:00 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

May 20, 2015 at 1:00 PM EDT

(May 20, 2015 at 5:00 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Government/Top Secret
    • It is the second flight of the second Boeing X-37B vehicle and the fourth flight of the program. United States Air Force Orbital Test Vehicle is an unmanned 5000 kg, 8.8 m-long reusable mini-spaceplane capable of autonomous re-entry and landing. The OTV-4 mission was to test Aerojet Rocketdyne's XR-5A Hall-effect thruster and conduct a NASA investigation for testing various materials in space. The mission concluded after 717 days in orbit, marking the first time X-37B landed on the Shuttle Landing Facility at the Kennedy Space Center.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 41