LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Thu Sep 08 2016
United Launch Alliance

OSIRIS-REx

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

September 8, 2016 at 7:05 PM EDT

(September 8, 2016 at 11:05 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

September 8, 2016 at 7:05 PM EDT

(September 8, 2016 at 11:05 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

September 8, 2016 at 9:05 PM EDT

(September 9, 2016 at 1:05 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Robotic Exploration
    • The Origins-Spectral Interpretation-Resource Identification-Security-Regolith Explorer (OSIRIS REx) mission will be the first U.S. mission to carry samples from an asteroid back to Earth and will help scientists investigate how planets formed and how life began, as well as improve our understanding of asteroids that could impact Earth.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 41