LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Mon Sep 27 2021
United Launch Alliance

Landsat 9

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

September 27, 2021 at 2:12 PM EDT

(September 27, 2021 at 6:12 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

September 27, 2021 at 2:12 PM EDT

(September 27, 2021 at 6:12 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

September 27, 2021 at 2:42 PM EDT

(September 27, 2021 at 6:42 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • Landsat 9 is a partnership between NASA and the U.S. Geological Survey to continue the Landsat program's critical role in monitoring, understanding and managing the land resources needed to sustain human life. Landsat 9, like Landsat 8, has a higher imaging capacity than past Landsats, allowing more valuable data to be added to the Landsat global land archive. Its operational orbit is a sun-synchronous orbit at an altitude of 705 km for a mission lifetime of at least 5 years.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Vandenberg SFB, CA, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 3E