LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Sat Nov 25 2023
Russian Space Forces

Bars-M No. 5

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

November 25, 2023 at 3:58 PM EST

(November 25, 2023 at 8:58 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

November 25, 2023 at 3:00 PM EST

(November 25, 2023 at 8:00 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

November 25, 2023 at 5:30 PM EST

(November 25, 2023 at 10:30 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Government/Top Secret
    • Note: Payload identity uncertain. Bars-M is the second incarnation of the Bars project, which was started in the mid 1990ies to develop a successor for the Komtea class of area surveillance satellites. The original Bars project was halted in the early 2000s. In 2007, TsSKB-Progress was contracted for Bars-M, for which reportedly the Yantar-based service module was replaced by a new developed advanced service module. The Bars-M satellites feature an electro-optical camera system called Karat, which is developed and built by the Leningrad Optical Mechanical Association (LOMO), and a dual laser altimeter instrument to deliver topographic imagery, stereo images, altimeter data and high-resolution images with a ground resolution around 1 meter.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Plesetsk Cosmodrome, Russian Federation

    Pad

    43/4 (43R)