LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Mon Oct 29 2018
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

KhalifaSat & GOSAT-2

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

October 29, 2018 at 12:08 AM EDT

(October 29, 2018 at 4:08 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

October 29, 2018 at 12:08 AM EDT

(October 29, 2018 at 4:08 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

October 29, 2018 at 12:20 AM EDT

(October 29, 2018 at 4:20 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • KhalifaSat is an Earth observation satellite for UAE. KhalifaSat will provide high-resolution imagery of Earth to be used for various purposes, including urban planning, change monitoring, area classification, monitoring environmental change and aiding relief efforts for natural disasters. GOSAT 2 (Greenhouse gases Observing SATellite 2) is a Japanese satellite dedicated to greenhouse gas measurement from space. It's a follow on to the GOSAT mission and includes such improvements as an ability to gather more precise data and monitor carbon monoxide concentrations.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Tanegashima, Japan

    Pad

    Osaki Y LP1