LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Fri Mar 17 2017
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

IGS Radar 5

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

March 16, 2017 at 9:20 PM EDT

(March 17, 2017 at 1:20 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

March 16, 2017 at 9:20 PM EDT

(March 17, 2017 at 1:20 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

March 16, 2017 at 9:33 PM EDT

(March 17, 2017 at 1:33 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Government/Top Secret
    • IGS Radar is a family of Japanese radar reconnaissance satellites that serve both Japan's national defense and civil natural disaster monitoring. IGS Radar 5 is the fifth generation of satellites. Equipped with synthetic aperture radar, it is able to image targets even in darkness and bad weather.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Tanegashima, Japan

    Pad

    Yoshinobu Launch Complex