LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Sun Feb 09 2020
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

IGS Optical 7

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

February 8, 2020 at 8:34 PM EST

(February 9, 2020 at 1:34 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

February 8, 2020 at 8:34 PM EST

(February 9, 2020 at 1:34 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

February 8, 2020 at 8:39 PM EST

(February 9, 2020 at 1:39 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Government/Top Secret
    • Information Gathering Satellite (IGS) is a Japanese governmental spy satellite program. IGS Optical 7, as the name suggests, is an optical reconnaissance satellite. Japan began development of IGS in the late 1990s, following North Korea’s attempted satellite launch in 1998. Although the North Korean launch failed to reach orbit, the rocket carrying it crossed Japan during its ascent, sparking fears that North Korean missiles would be able to target the islands. With IGS, Japan aimed to develop an independent reconnaissance capability to monitor future threats. The constellation can also be used for disaster monitoring and other civilian applications by the Japanese government.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Tanegashima, Japan

    Pad

    Yoshinobu Launch Complex