LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Wed Nov 02 2016
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

Himawari-9

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

November 2, 2016 at 2:20 AM EDT

(November 2, 2016 at 6:20 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

November 2, 2016 at 2:20 AM EDT

(November 2, 2016 at 6:20 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

November 2, 2016 at 5:18 AM EDT

(November 2, 2016 at 9:18 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • Himawari-9 is a geostationary weather satellite operated by the Japan Meteorological Agency. It will be placed at 140 degrees East and will replace Himawari-8 in 2022. The satellite is about 3,500 kilograms and has a design life of around 15 years with operational life lasting 8 years.The main instrument aboard is a 16 channel multispectral imager to capture visible light and infrared images of the Asian-Pacific region.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Tanegashima, Japan

    Pad

    Yoshinobu Launch Complex