LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Thu Mar 01 2018
United Launch Alliance

GOES-S

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

March 1, 2018 at 5:02 PM EST

(March 1, 2018 at 10:02 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

March 1, 2018 at 5:02 PM EST

(March 1, 2018 at 10:02 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

March 1, 2018 at 7:02 PM EST

(March 2, 2018 at 12:02 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • The Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite-S Series (GOES-S) is the second of the next generation of geostationary weather satellites. The four satellites of the series will provide advanced imaging with increased spatial resolution and faster coverage for more accurate forecasts, real-time mapping of lightning activity, and improved monitoring of solar activity. GOES-S will provide continuous imagery and atmospheric measurements of the Western Hemisphere. GOES-S will be the primary tool for the detection and tracking of hurricanes and severe weather. Once operational as GOES-17, the satellite wil replace GOES-15 satellite.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 41