LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Wed Dec 09 2020
China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation

GECAM

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

December 9, 2020 at 3:14 PM EST

(December 9, 2020 at 8:14 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

December 9, 2020 at 3:05 PM EST

(December 9, 2020 at 8:05 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

December 9, 2020 at 3:31 PM EST

(December 9, 2020 at 8:31 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Astrophysics
    • GECAM (Gravitational Wave High-energy Electromagnetic Counterpart All-sky Monitor) is a constellation of two small X-ray and gamma-ray all-sky observatories to search for gamma-ray counterparts to gravitational wave events. Each satellite features a dome-shaped array of 25 Gamma-ray detectors (GRD) and 8 Charged particle detectors (CPD). Together the satellites will provide a FOV of 100% all-sky. The sensitivity of the detectors is ~2E-8 erg/cm2/s. They will provide a localization of ~1°. The detectors are sensible in the energy band from 6 keV to 5 MeV. Besides detecting the radiation from gravitatinal wave events, the satellites will also be contributing in detectiong Ultra-long GRBs, X-ray Flashes, X-ray-rich GRBs, Magnetars and Terrestrial Gamma-ray Flashes.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Xichang Satellite Launch Center, People's Republic of China

    Pad

    Unknown Pad