LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Tue May 08 2018
China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation

Gaofen 5

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

May 8, 2018 at 2:28 PM EDT

(May 8, 2018 at 6:28 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

May 8, 2018 at 2:20 PM EDT

(May 8, 2018 at 6:20 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

May 8, 2018 at 2:46 PM EDT

(May 8, 2018 at 6:46 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • Gaofen is a series of civilian Earth observation satellites developed and launched for the China High-definition Earth Observation System (CHEOS), a state-sponsored programme aimed to develop a near-real time, all-weather, global surveillance network consisting of satellite, near-space (stratosphere) airships, and aerial observation platforms. Based on the SAST5000B bus, Gaofen 5 will carry six types of payloads, including visible and short-wave infra hyper-spectral camera, spectral imager, greenhouse gas detector, atmospheric environment infrared detector at very high spectral resolution, differential absorption spectrometer for atmospheric trace gas, and multi-angle polarization detector. The satellite has a designed life of 8 years. It is to be launched atop of a Long March 4C to a 705km Sun Syncronous Orbit (SSO).
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Taiyuan, People's Republic of China

    Pad

    Launch Complex 9