LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Tue Sep 07 2021
China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation

Gaofen-5-02

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

September 6, 2021 at 11:01 PM EDT

(September 7, 2021 at 3:01 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

September 6, 2021 at 10:35 PM EDT

(September 7, 2021 at 2:35 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

September 6, 2021 at 11:56 PM EDT

(September 7, 2021 at 3:56 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • Gaofen (GF) is a series of Chinese civilian remote sensing satellites for the state-sponsored program China High-definition Earth Observation System (CHEOS). GF 5 is configured with six types of payloads, including visible and short-wave infra hyper-spectral camera, spectral imager, greenhouse gas detector, atmospheric environment infrared detector at very high spectral resolution, differential absorption spectrometer for atmospheric trace gas, and multi-angle polarization detector, with designed lifespan of 8 years. The satellite is based on the SAST-5000B bus. The instruments are: * Advanced Hyperspectral Imager (AHSI) * Visual and Infrared Multispectral Sensor (VIMS) * Greenhouse-gases Monitoring Instrument (GMI) * Atmospheric Infrared Ultraspectral (AIUS) * Environment Monitoring Instrument (EMI) * Directional Polarization Camera (DPC)
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Taiyuan, People's Republic of China

    Pad

    Launch Complex 9