LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Sat Aug 15 2020
Arianespace

Galaxy 30, MEV-2 & BSAT-4B

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

August 15, 2020 at 6:04 PM EDT

(August 15, 2020 at 10:04 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

August 15, 2020 at 5:33 PM EDT

(August 15, 2020 at 9:33 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

August 15, 2020 at 6:20 PM EDT

(August 15, 2020 at 10:20 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Communications
    • Galaxy-30 is a geostationary communications satellite for Intelsat. Satellite is built by Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems (NGIS) and is planned to provide video distribution and broadcast services to customers in North America. Galaxy 30 satellite is launched in tandem with MEV-2 vehicle. MEV-2, which stands for Mission Extension Vehicle-2, is the second servicing mission by NGIS. MEV-2 will rendezvous and dock with the Intelsat 1002 satellite in early 2021. Then, MEV-2 will use its own thrusters and fuel supply to control the satellite’s orbit, thereby extending its useful lifetime. Another passenger of the flight is the BSAT-4b satellite for the Japanese operator BSAT. BSAT-4b will serve as a back-up for BSAT-4a satellite, launched in 2017. BSAT-4b will provide Direct-to-Home television services and is expected to operate for at least 15 years.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Kourou, French Guiana

    Pad

    Ariane Launch Area 3