LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Sun Jan 19 2020
SpaceX

Crew Dragon In-Flight Abort Test

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

January 19, 2020 at 10:30 AM EST

(January 19, 2020 at 3:30 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

January 19, 2020 at 8:00 AM EST

(January 19, 2020 at 1:00 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

January 19, 2020 at 2:00 PM EST

(January 19, 2020 at 7:00 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Test Flight
    • When the Falcon 9 Block 5 rocket reaches Max-Q (maximum dynamic forces), the launch abort system of the Crew Dragon spacecraft will be triggered. This will fire up its SuperDraco engines and propel the spacecraft and its theoretical passengers away from the launch vehicle before landing back safely in the Atlantic Ocean. The goal of this test is to demonstrate the capacity of the spacecraft to ensure a safe return to the ground for the astronauts in the event of a launch vehicle failure. The booster for this launch will be B1046, a thrice-flown core which was the first of the Block 5 generation. It will not attempt to land and is expected to be destroyed by the SuperDracos and aerodynamic loads.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Kennedy Space Center, FL, USA

    Pad

    Launch Complex 39A