LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Fri Dec 07 2018
China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation

Chang'e 4 (lander and rover)

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

December 7, 2018 at 1:23 PM EST

(December 7, 2018 at 6:23 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

December 7, 2018 at 1:15 PM EST

(December 7, 2018 at 6:15 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

December 7, 2018 at 1:34 PM EST

(December 7, 2018 at 6:34 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Robotic Exploration
    • Chang'e 4 is a Chinese lunar exploration mission, incorporating a robotic lander and rover. Chang'e 4 will be China's second lunar lander and rover. The spacecraft is named after the Chinese Moon goddess. This will be the first mission to attempt soft landing on the far side of the Moon.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Xichang Satellite Launch Center, People's Republic of China

    Pad

    Unknown Pad