LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Wed Feb 17 2016
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

Astro-H (Hitomi)

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

February 17, 2016 at 3:45 AM EST

(February 17, 2016 at 8:45 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

February 17, 2016 at 3:45 AM EST

(February 17, 2016 at 8:45 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

February 17, 2016 at 4:30 AM EST

(February 17, 2016 at 9:30 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Astrophysics
    • Astro-H is the 6th satellite in a series of X-ray telescopes by JAXA and ISAS. Its 4 instruments on board will cover the X-ray and Gamma ray regions. This region consists of photons with energy ranging from 0.3-600keV, and the telescope will provide the highest resolution ever achieved of 3-10 keV bands. The craft weighs 2.7 tonnes and will be placed into a circular orbit 575km above the ground, with an inclination of 31 degrees.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Tanegashima, Japan

    Pad

    Yoshinobu Launch Complex