LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Failure
Sat Sep 03 2016
SpaceX

Amos 6 (Failure before launch)

Launch Failure
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

September 3, 2016 at 3:00 AM EDT

(September 3, 2016 at 7:00 AM UTC)

Launch Window Start

September 3, 2016 at 3:00 AM EDT

(September 3, 2016 at 7:00 AM UTC)

Launch Window End

September 3, 2016 at 5:00 AM EDT

(September 3, 2016 at 9:00 AM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Communications
    • **FAILURE: Rocket and payload lost during anomaly originating around the upper stage oxygen tank during propellant load few minutes before static fire on Sept 1, 1307UTC.** Built to replace the existing AMOS-2 satellite, AMOS-6 will be positioned in a geostationary orbit at 4 degrees west. The 5500kg craft will contain 43 Ku/Ka-band transponders and 2 S-band transponders to provide communications coverage for Africa, Europe and the Middle East. The 2 solar arrays on the craft will provide 9kW of power for the satellite’s 16 year expected lifetime.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

    Pad

    Space Launch Complex 40