LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Partial Failure
Thu Jan 25 2018
Arianespace

Al Yah 3 & SES-14

Launch Failure
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

January 25, 2018 at 5:20 PM EST

(January 25, 2018 at 10:20 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

January 25, 2018 at 5:20 PM EST

(January 25, 2018 at 10:20 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

January 25, 2018 at 6:05 PM EST

(January 25, 2018 at 11:05 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Communications
    • Al Yah 3 is a geostationary communications satellite built by Orbital ATK for Yahsat. It weighs 3790 kg, carries 53 Ka-band user beams and 4 gateway beams, and is intended for 15 years of operation in orbit. Al Yah 3 will provide telecommunication services to Africa and Brazil. SES-14 is also a communications satellite to be placed in geostationary orbit, replacing NSS-806 satellite. SES-14 coverage includes the Americas and the North Atlantic Region. Spacecraft also carries a hosted payload for NASA, Global-Scale Observations of the Limb and Disk (GOLD) mission, which will be imaging Earth's thermosphere and ionospehere for two years.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Kourou, French Guiana

    Pad

    Ariane Launch Area 3