LAUNCH CENTER

Launch Image
Success
Thu Dec 15 2016
Orbital ATK

8 x CYGNSS

Launch Successful
LAUNCH PREVIEW

Launch Time

December 15, 2016 at 8:37 AM EST

(December 15, 2016 at 1:37 PM UTC)

Launch Window Start

December 15, 2016 at 8:21 AM EST

(December 15, 2016 at 1:21 PM UTC)

Launch Window End

December 15, 2016 at 9:21 AM EST

(December 15, 2016 at 2:21 PM UTC)

RECOVERY OVERVIEW

Location

No Recovery Specified

Type

No Recovery Specified

    Loading...
    MISSION OVERVIEW
    • Type: Earth Science
    • CYGNSS or Cyclone Global Navigation Satellite System is a NASA developed system to improve hurricane forecasting. It is a constellation of 8 small observation satellites, 27.5 kg each, that will make accurate measurements of ocean surface winds in and near the eye of the storm throughout the lifecycle of tropical cyclones, typhoons & hurricanes.
    COMPLEX OVERVIEW

    Location

    Air launch to orbit

    Pad

    Cape Canaveral